新兴全球针织风尚

Wool & The Gang 利用社交媒体让针织品变得酷味十足

工艺

- 分享到 -

在对当下大规模量产的成衣大失所望之后,Jade Harwood 和 Aurelie Popper 开始制作手工针织品。

我们都买过工厂生产的廉价服装,并在心里默默地想,人们“炮制”时尚的速度是如此之快。而真相往往是令人不快的。

在时装行业打拼多年后,Jade Harwood 和 Aurelie Popper 认为面对这样的困局,肯定有更好的出路。

“Aurelie 和我都厌倦了大规模量产的服装,所以我们想换一种方式来生产时装”,Harwood 说。“我们想让人们保留并珍视他们身上的衣服,并且希望用一种可持续的方式生产高品质服装”。

Jade Harwood and Aurelie Popper
Jade Harwood 和Aurelie Popper

怀揣这样的理想,他们成立了 Wool & The Gang这家开创性的时装公司,并坚持高品质、可持续的生产方式,使针织品在受 Instagram 等社交媒体影响的一代人眼中变得酷味十足。

作为一家兼具科技创业公司基因和家庭手工业传统的公司,Wool & The Gang 利用数字平台,重振传统针织技艺在新的追随者中的形象,并取得了令人印象深刻的结果。仅去年一年,Wool & The Gang 的制作者们就在家制作了大约 37,000 件针织品,其中一部分做给自己,还有一部分做给 WATG 电子商务网站的顾客们。在 #shareyourknits 和 #woolandthegang 这两个话题标签中,该公司发布了 40,000 张手工针织爱好者制作的服装图片。

“我们希望人们重拾起针织技艺,将它作为一项新的爱好、冥想的手段和社交方式,并且能为自己身上所穿的衣服感到骄傲。” Harwood说。

“我们想让所有人知道他们的衣服来自何处、出自何人之手,并且希望我们的制作者社区更加壮大。”

Wool & The Gang

WATG 的创始人和创意总监 Harwood 和 Aurelie Popper 是在伦敦的中央圣马丁艺术学院 (Central Saint Martins) 学习面料设计时相识的。之后,他们在巴黎的各大时装店工作,其中包括 Alexander McQueen 和 Balmain。在那里,他们与曾经做过模特的毛线爱好者Elisabeth Sabrier一见如故。

志同道合的三人于 2008 年创办了 WATG。以打造“更柔软、更精致、更美好的世界”为理念,这家英国电子商务零售商销售自有品牌的高端针织用品,以及面向男性、女性和儿童的成品毛衣、帽子、围巾和其他羊毛配饰。

“我们热爱羊毛,因为它充满乐趣,玩法多样,而且柔软舒适。”Harwood 说。“无论是拿在手中、穿在身上还是送给别人,它都会给你很棒的感觉。最重要的是,羊毛是一种环保材料 — 天然、可再生并且可生物降解。”

羊毛在 WATG 的网站上备受推崇,网站上发布了许多年轻女性亲自作为模特展示自己手工作品的照片,充满趣味和时尚感。另外,WATG 在英国、美国和澳大利亚举办了针织聚会活动。在活动中,羊毛这种天然纤维也受到人们的称赞与喜爱。

“我们想把人们聚在一起,分享彼此热爱的东西、交流技巧、交换毛线和创意想法。”Harwood 说。“大家可以在一起吃点蛋糕,享受欢乐时光 — 这些事情很纯粹,也很重要。”

公司还集合了一群针织爱好者组成“全球针织爱好者网络”,让他们手工编织针织品在公司网站上销售,其中很多人还根据顾客的要求定制针织品。这些爱好者自己购买材料,但每件针织品售价的大部分归他们所得。

“有些人就是想购买我们做好的成衣,因为他们喜欢我们的氛围,而且很多是制作者,他们挑选喜爱的纱线颜色、棒针、配件,然后就自己动手编织。”Harwood 说。

Wool & The Gang

社交媒体在 WATG 的成功中发挥着举足轻重的作用。

“通过社交媒体,顾客可以提出问题,我们也可以传达我们的品牌精神、讨论羊毛以及其独特的品质。”Harwood 说。“我们喜欢分享自己的创作,社交媒体让我们在与社区的互动当中迸发灵感。”

WATG 与众多时装设计师合作过很多时装秀,例如 Giles Deacon、Christopher Raeburn 和 Aurelie Biderman 等。这些走秀活动为公司推广其时尚前卫、酷味十足的针织作品提供了完美的平台,颠覆了针织品经常给人带来的那种“坐在家中壁炉旁编织”的刻板印象。

去年 2 月,WATG 为伦敦时装周的 Giles Deacon 时装秀创作了针织作品,其中包括最具人气女模 Cara Delevingne 所戴的一顶虫眼帽。走秀结束后,Delevingne 在 Instagram 上发出了一张自己的照片,标题为“Knitting is the BOMB @woolandthegang”(针织品简直酷毙了!)。短短几小时,这条消息迅速收到了数千个粉丝点赞,并为 WATG 的 Facebook 页面新增了 5,000 个赞。

这家公司正在不断发展壮大,目前员工人数已达 25 人,2014 年的销售额创纪录地增长了 320%。公司计划继续开拓国际市场,其中包括国际羊毛标志大奖的发源地澳大利亚。Harwood 表示,国际羊毛标志大奖对于提高澳大利亚美丽诺羊毛的知名度起到了关键作用。

“这是一个在时装界备受推崇、具有很高设计水准的奖项。”Harwood 说。“它改变了人们对羊毛的看法,使羊毛设计师有机会走到台前。我们期待今后能有更多这样的活动。”

猜你喜欢

The new global knitwork

Wool & The Gang is using social media to make knitting cool

The Craft

- Share -

Jade Harwood and Aurelie Popper turned to hand knits when they became disillusioned with mass produced garments.

We’ve all bought cheap clothing made in factories and mused on how fast fashion is manufactured. The truth is often unpleasant.

After years of working in the fashion industry, Jade Harwood and Aurelie Popper thought there had to be a better way.

“Aurelie and I were tired of mass produced clothing and we wanted to change the way fashion is made,” says Harwood. “We wanted people to keep and cherish what they wear and we wanted quality fashion produced in a sustainable way.”

Jade Harwood and Aurelie Popper
Jade Harwood and Aurelie Popper

The result is Wool & The Gang, a ground-breaking fashion enterprise based on quality, sustainable production that is making knitting cool among the Instagram generation.

Part tech-start up, part cottage industry, WATG uses digital platforms to revive the traditional craft of knitting among new converts with impressive results. Last year alone approximately 37,000 pieces were made at home by Wool and the Gang makers either for themselves or for customers of the WATG ecommerce site, and between the two hashtags #shareyourknits and #woolandthegang the company has posted 40,000 pictures of garments hand knitted by followers.

“We want people to pick up knitting and making as a new hobby, meditation tool and form of social interaction and allow themselves to take pride of what they wear,” says Harwood.

“We want everyone to know where and by whom their clothes were made and we want our community of makers to grow even bigger.”

Wool & The Gang

WATG founders and creative directors Harwood and Aurelie Popper met while studying textile design at Central Saint Martins in London, before working at fashion houses including Alexander McQueen and Balmain in Paris, where they met former model and yarn lover Elisabeth Sabrier.

The trio founded WATG in 2008 “for a softer, fairer and brighter world” as a British e-tailer selling its own brand of premium-priced knitting supplies, along with ready-made sweaters, hats, scarves, and other woollen accessories for men, women, and children.

“We love wool because it's fun, playful, and soft,” says Harwood. “You feel good when you touch it, when you wear it and when you gift it. And most importantly wool is eco-friendly - natural, renewable and biodegradable.”

Wool is promoted on the WATG website, which is filled with fun and fashionable shots of young women modelling their own handiwork, and the natural fibre is also celebrated at knitting parties hosted by WATG in the UK, America and Australia.

“We wanted to bring people together and share something they love to do, exchange skills, yarn, ideas,” says Harwood. “Have some cake and fun - simple things that matter.”

The company also employs what it calls “a global knitwork of gangstas” to knit handmade pieces that are sold on its website, with many of them also knitting pieces to fulfil on-demand orders from consumers. The so-called Gang Makers buy their own materials but receive the majority of the sale price of each item.

“Some people just want to buy our ready-made clothes because they love our ethos and lots of people are makers and they want to pick up their yarn colour, needles, accessories and just knit,” says Harwood.

Wool & The Gang

Social media has played a profound role in WATG’s success.

“Social media allows customers to ask questions and for us to talk about our brand and about wool and its special qualities,” says Harwood. “We love sharing what we create…it's an inspiring way to engage with our community.

Giles Deacon, Christopher Raeburn and Aurelie Biderman are among the fashion designers WATG has collaborated with on runway shows that provide the perfect platform to promote its edgy, cool brand of knitting that is far removed from the homely, fireside image often associated with it.

In February last year WATG created knitwear for the Giles Deacon show at London Fashion Week including a bug eye hat worn by model of the moment Cara Delevingne. After the show Delevingne posted a picture of herself to Instagram with the caption “Knitting is the BOMB @woolandthegang.’ That swiftly garnered thousands of likes and within hours had spawned an additional 5,000 likes on WATG’s own Facebook page.

The company continues to grow, and now employs a team of 25 people that in 2014 recorded a 320 per cent sales increase. The plan is for continued international expansion in markets including Australia, the home of the International Woolmark Prize which Harwood says plays a valuable role in driving awareness of Australian Merino wool.

“It's a very well respected prize amongst the fashion industry with very high design standards,” says Harwood. “It changes the perception about wool and brings wool designers to the front. We wish there was more initiatives of this kind of initiative around.”

You may also like