最新作品:“无名”的针织服

模特、音乐家与纺织品艺术家Rachel Rutt的最新作品及新网站

工艺

- 分享到 -

Rachel Rutt的最新作品 “感受真爱”(Feel Real Love)展示了五颜六色的可穿着针织艺术品,令穿戴者在遮住面庞的同时展露内心。


RACHEL RUTT的可穿着羊毛艺术品“感受真爱”

时尚与艺术的碰撞

 


RACHEL RUTT的可穿着羊毛艺术品“花园派对”

模特Rachel Rutt自18岁高中毕业后走上了模特生涯。现在,25岁的她已经与许多著名设计师合作过,其中包括Akira Isogawa, Phillip Lim和Zimmermann。可以说,她对服装的力量和衣服对肌肤的触感了解甚广。她的最新羊毛作品 “感受真爱”将针织品升华至艺术的高度。

 “与时装相比,它们更像是舞台服装或是可穿着的艺术品”,谈及这些每一件都需要一周的时间才能完成的亮色针织服装,她评论道,“这从它们的外表就能看出,更不要说穿上它们的感受了。人们会显得有些滑稽。”

Rutt一向热衷于创造有个性的单品。“我最希望从穿戴者得到的反馈,并不是这些衣服看起来很美,或是它们适合穿着,而是它们能让你脱离正常的世界。我认为这是我最享受之处。”


RACHEL RUTT的可穿着羊毛艺术品“雪人”(YETI)

为展示这些艺术品,Rutt组织了一次照片摄影活动,并邀请众多好友共同参与,为这些作品赋予活力。此外,他们还制作了一支视频,搭配由“Heart People” (Rutt与Ryan Grieve组建的二人音乐团体)创作的原声乐音,对这些匿名角色加以衬托。这是Rutt在时尚、工艺和音乐领域兴趣的登峰造极之作。

“这很有趣,我拥有三个完全不同的职业,它们时而交织,时而独立,”她解释道,“自从我们在三月推出第一支视频片段后,时尚、模特事业已经开始与音乐有一些交织。羊毛正以同样的方式与音乐融合,而它早已与时尚相得益彰。我乐于看到它们相互融合。”

尽管Rutt在过去两年中一直专注于音乐,她对羊毛的热爱早在10年前就已萌芽。“我在高中的时候学会了如何编织,”她说道,“当时我并不擅长编织。几年以后,直到我踏上模特生涯并在拍摄间隙拥有大量的空闲时间,我才重拾这项手艺。”


RACHEL RUTT的可穿着羊毛艺术品“波点”

“作为模特,我需要经常出差。每到一个地方,我都会关注当地的羊毛业,我会尝试和寻找一种当地的纱线,或者根据那次旅行创作一份作品。”得益于这些小作品,Rutt与英国针织品牌Wool and the Gang联合制作DIY针织品,还与总部设在纽约的澳洲品牌Tome合作推出两条定制美丽诺羊毛围巾。这些围巾曾在2014年秋冬秀场展示。

目前,Rutt刚刚推出新网站,用于展示并售卖她独特的可穿着针织雕塑品,并鼓励发散思维的实验。“穿戴者经常会彻头彻尾地改变服装,”她笑称,“我喜欢向人们提供衣服,却不告诉他们该如何穿着,因为你经常有出乎意料发现,而这往往更好”。

更多信息请查看 www.rachelrutt.com

猜你喜欢

Next up: anonymous knitwear

Introducing model, musician and textile artist Rachel Rutt’s latest body of work, and new website

The Craft

- Share -

Rachel Rutt’s latest project, Feel Real Love, showcases colourfully knitted wearable artworks that let the wearer bare their hearts while veiling their faces.


Rachel Rutt’s wearable wool artwork ‘Feel Real Love’

Fashion meets art


Rachel Rutt’s wearable wool artwork 'Garden Party'

Model Rachel Rutt first started modelling at 18-years-old after she graduated from high school. Now, at 25 and having working for designers including Akira Isogawa, Phillip Lim and Zimmermann, it’s fair to say she knows a thing or two about the power of clothing and the way a garment feels against the skin. But her latest wool project, Feel Real Love, takes knits beyond the runway and into the realm of art.

“They are definitely more costume or wearable art rather than fashion,” she says, of the collection of bright, knitted outfits that each took approximately a week to knit. “Just by the way they look let alone how people feel in them. People can kind of become a bit goofy.”

Rutt’s modus operandi has always been to create pieces with personality. “The best part about the response that I’ve had from people putting them on is not that it looks great or it’s wearable. Seemingly the best part is that it takes you out of the normal world. I think that’s the part that I enjoy the most.” 


Rachel Rutt’s wearable wool artwork ‘Yeti’

A photo shoot organised to document the body of work saw Rutt gather a group of close friends to bring the pieces to life, and a video and original soundtrack composed by Heart People, the two-piece musical project formed by Rutt and Ryan Grieve, was developed to complement the anonymous characters. It’s the perfect culmination of Rutt’s interests in fashion, craft and music.

“It’s funny, I have these three different careers which kind of go in and out of each other,” she explains. “Fashion and modelling has come in to play with the music a bit recently since the launch of our first video clip in March...in the same way wool is merging with music and has already in the past merged with fashion. It’s nice to see it all coming together.”

While Rutt has been concentrating on music in earnest for the past two years, her fascination with wool started a decade ago. “I learned how to knit when I was in high school,” she says. “I wasn’t a good knitter at the time. It wasn’t until a couple of years later when I started modelling and having a lot of spare time on shoots that I actually started picking it.


Rachel Rutt’s wearable wool artwork ‘Dot’

“Through modelling, I got to travel a lot and I found everywhere I was going I’d look at what was happening in wool there, I’d either try and source a local yarn or do a project on that trip.” It was these small projects that led Rutt to working with UK-based knitting collective Wool and the Gang on DIY kits, and New York-based Australian label Tome on two bespoke Merino wool scarves shown on the runway for AW14.

Now, Rutt has just launched a new website to showcase and sell her unique wearable knit sculptures, and encourages open-minded experimentation. “Often the wearer changes the garment completely,” she says. “I like to offer people costumes and not tell them how to put it on because you often find yourself looking at something you didn’t expect, and it’s usually better,” she laughs.

Find out more at www.rachelrutt.com

You may also like