世家宝 (SCABAL) 与羊毛的复兴

极致追求,尽善尽美:第 II 部分

专家说

- 分享到 -

为了探索世界最优质的澳大利亚美丽诺羊毛从小小纤维变为精品时装的奇妙之旅,时尚权威期刊《The Rake》策划了一次共分两个部分的专题报道。在报道的第二部分,期刊记者从西约克郡来到新南威尔士,深入追踪报道世家宝 (Scabal) 与国际羊毛局 (The Woolmark Company)将羊毛面料推向卓越的共同使命。

 

精致面料源自天然农场

对于为世界各地知名时装定制师、纺织企业和精品服装生产商供应顶级优质面料的生产商来说,原材料的品质始终要放在第一位。正因为如此,世家宝 (Scabal) 执行主席 Gregor Thissen 于 2013 年 9 月前往澳大利亚考察,并最终促成了世家宝 (Scabal) Noble Wool Club的设立。

“我渴望追本溯源,更深入地去了解羊毛行业,”Thissen 这样告诉《The Rake》。跟随他的脚步,《The Rake》对澳大利亚美丽诺羊毛的起源进行了最真实的报导。随着男装消费群体对可追溯的天然品质的需求与日俱增,Thissen回归供应链的源头,亲身去体验并感受羊毛的卓越品质和传统。

“我遇到了一群用生命在工作的人,他们对工作投入的热情和专注让我深受触动。我很欣赏他们与土地、乡村和羊群之间建立的融洽关系。我们与这些人一起共事,共同对产品进行改进,使其变得更加出色——面料更佳,抗皱性和回弹力更出色,这意味着当你穿着它旅行时,衣服可以更好地保持廓形。”

澳大利亚牧民生产的纤维不仅品质卓越,而且天然、可生物降解、可再生。《The Rake》对他们在羊毛生产中发挥的巨大作用进行了重点报导,并采访了世家宝 (Scabal) Noble Wool Club 的成员Murray Picker。Murray 是第六代牧民,在澳大利亚新南威尔士南部高地一个名叫 Bigga 的村子拥有一片农场,并在这里培育羊毛。他向《The Rake》介绍了遗传育种技术对于培育羊毛的重要性。

世家宝 (Scabal) Noble Wool Club 是 Thissen 和国际羊毛局 (The Woolmark Company) 共同设立的,旨在保护和推广具有生态可持续性且经济高效的农牧业。世家宝 (Scabal) Noble Wool Club 要求成员的产品符合纤维直径等一系列严苛标准,以确保最终成品——如世家宝的 Noble Fleece 面料和萨维尔街精品店销售的西装面料——达到无可挑剔的标准。

不仅如此,世家宝 (Scabal) 还要求西约克郡的哈德斯菲尔德工厂的员工也达到同样的卓越水平。从这些员工身上,《The Rake》看到了世家宝 (Scabal) 500年来对工艺、精准和专注的坚持与传承,对传统发自内心的尊重,对技术创新的不懈追求。正是在这里,美丽诺羊毛纱线经过织工的巧手,最终成为完美的面料。

《The Rake》杂志的 4 月特刊讲述了 Scabal 以及羊毛复兴故事的第二部分。

猜你喜欢

Scabal and the rebirth of wool

Pursuit of Perfection: Part 2

Meet the Maker

- Share -

In the second instalment of The Rake’s two-part exploration into the fibre-to-fashion journey of the world’s finest Australian Merino wool, the style authority heads from West Yorkshire to New South Wales to delve deeper into Scabal and The Woolmark Company’s joint mission to advance wool fabric excellence.

FROM FARM TO FABRIC

When you’re a producer of top quality fabrics to the most prestigious tailors and textile business around the world, and manufacturer of the finest suits, the quality of the raw ingredients is always going to be paramount. It’s why Scabal Executive Chairman Gregor Thissen travelled to Australia in September 2013, and what ultimately led to the conception of The Scabal Noble Wool Club.

“I really wanted to go more in-depth, right into the roots of the wool industry,” Thissen tells The Rake, the publication that followed in his footsteps to uncover the true provenance of Australian Merino wool. In response to menswear consumers showing an increasing appetite for traceable quality, Thissen was after first-hand experience of the excellence and tradition that stretches right back to the very beginning of the supply chain.

“I was really struck by the people I met, and the passion and dedication that they put into their work — they put their lives into it. I really like their connection to the soil, and to the countryside and the animals. Working with these guys, we can enhance the product and make it even better — better fabric, with better crease resistance and recovery, which means when you travel with it, it retains its shape better.”

Highlighting the hugely important role of Australian woolgrowers in producing not only an extremely high-quality fibre but also a natural, biodegradable and renewable resource, The Rake meets Murray Picker, one of the Scabal Noble Wool Club members. A sixth generation farmer, Murray explains the importance of genetics and breeding to the farming of wool on his property in Bigga, a village in the Southern Tablelands of New South Wales, Australia.

Conceived by Thissen and The Woolmark Company in order to preserve and promote ecologically sustainable and economically fair farming, The Scabal Noble Wool Club requires members to satisfy a rigorous set of criteria, which goes beyond fibre diameter, to ensure the end result – fabrics such as Scabal’s ‘Noble Fleece’ and suiting that sells on Savile Row – is of impeccable standard.

Equal levels of excellence are expected of the staff at Scabal Mill in Huddersfield in West Yorkshire, where The Rake finds a 500-year heritage of skill, precision and attentiveness stemming from a ‘heartfelt respect for tradition’ and quest for technical innovation. It is here that Merino wool yarn is woven into fabric in the final stages in the pursuit of fabric perfection.

Part two of The Rake’s investigation of Scabal and the rebirth of wool features in the publications April edition.

You may also like