娜特莉時装有限公司

来自香港的针织制造商娜特莉时装有限公司是行业技术的先锋企业,主营创新的设计师服装

专家说

- 分享到 -

如果说设计时装是一件事,但拥有专业知识和设备来制造所设计的服装是完全不同的另一件事,并且要以一个迅猛的技术发展势头保持在全球时尚行业的前端,这完全可称之为是一个伟大的挑战。娜特莉时装有限公司是一家来自香港忠于原创设计的服装制造公司,致力于针织产品的创新,为世界上一些最受拥戴的品牌做生产。本次,我们会就有关针织产品的复杂工艺对话娜特莉时装有限公司的首席执行官吴秉坚先生。

您能描述一下娜特莉時装有限公司的业务吗?

吴秉坚:我们主要是一家原创设计制造(ODM)公司。然而,对于我们正在做的事情我也有自己的定义,我们不只是一家原创设计制造公司,更是一家着力于优化服装的原创设计和技术开发公司。不同之处在于,我们服务于很多品牌,其中很多都已经有自己的设计风格,我们所能提供的服务不仅限于手工艺和创新工术,更在于使他们的设计得以体现。我想说的是,大部分的时间里,相比设计,我们花费更多时间在优化和制造方面,这是我们的核心专长,因为许多设计师不知道如何将他们的设计转化为实物。比如有一次,一位设计师来问我,他们是否可以以针织工艺来创造一个“梭织的形态”,而这正是我们所在做的,我们借助自己的软件和器械最终帮助他们实现了想法。

什么是科技设计?数码针织是如何工作的?

吴秉坚:科技设计意味着我们将通过我们现有的科技来创造一项新的常用技术或是运用到设计中去。拿一款正在流行的格纹图案为例,它本身是很常见也很容易生产,我们会通过对织法的改变和改进来赋予它更高的价值,在两面使用不同颜色的各自来创造一款可底面翻转使用的格子织物。不仅如此,缝位也經特別設計,任誰也不能说出另一面竟是一个完全不同颜色的格纹。然后,现在仅有少部分工厂能负担这样的设备和资源或是知道该如何操作。另一个例子,比如生产一件三维针织服装;我们可以设计一款只有一个接缝的成形编织服装,利用悬垂和适体来凸显线条美,这也适用于其他设计。

吴秉坚:数码针织是利用计算机软件来创造一个可以汇入电子针织机编织的复杂图案,整个过程将不再需要任何人手制作。我们有一个被称为“智能下數紙”的系统,它可以制作针织服饰样辨,此样辨可以计算出一件服装何时需要放针或收针(扩大或缩小),适用于我们所有的成形针织服装。另外,我们还有一个“智能设计師”系统,有广泛用于Jenny Kee的设计去创造出数码化的针织图案,这些针织图案都来自于她本人的原图。她会给我们一款图样,或是一个图像,我们将其扫描到系统中,随后将它制成方格图案,然后再将其数码化成为一种针步图案。最后,我们必须把所有不同的颜色输进机器,使它可以根据我们预先输入的设计程序来编织服装。

数码针织能带来其他的优势吗?

吴秉坚: 数码针织也可以让我们隨意将比例缩放,进行更高效,更精确的衫样放码。你可以利用这个电脑系统很容易地识别出正确的档案,并进行快速编辑,以生产同款式不同尺码的服装,并且将缩放比例保持不变。在我看来,数码针织是非常具经济效益的。

对于和服装设计师合作,您有何感想?

林诗敏:回想起大学里的日子,我们会通过想象一个主题、一些我们喜欢的事物来开始做设计,整个设计的系列都会围绕主题或是喜欢的事物。而现在,当然有了多年的专业经验后,我意识到所设计的东西必须是有市场价值的,它会赋予你的设计更多的意义,这就是商业。你必须考虑你的客户,你的消费者还有你的目标市场。这是关键,它不是简单地做你喜欢的事情而不在意别人的想法。娜特莉时装对很多设计师而言是学习过程中的一部分。这对我来说很有成就感,尤其是因为我在这里负责产品规划工作,同时也有机会在商业环境中运用我所学到的东西。

吴秉坚:在我们进行制作之前,必须要先充分了解客户、品牌架构和市场。一些客户来找我们想要按照流行趋势和色调跟风,我认为这对于它们的品牌和目标市场而言是完全没有意义的,我们必须引导他们回到正确的方向,所以我们会遵循它们的品牌特征和风格来创作去开发设计。最后,设计必须是要畅销的。有时我们甚至会用一些全新的想法来打动长期的客户,向他们展现我们做到的样品,告诉他们我们的方案,当听到他们发出“哇”的声音后,我们就会一步一步完成工作。

最近您与Jenny Kee在她名为“全新开端”的服装系列中有合作。您对于她的原创设计是如何理解的?

林诗敏:从Jenny Kee来找我们开始到整个项目的结束历时近一年的时间。当第一次收到她的作品,我们都大吃一惊!因为她运用了难以置信的颜色数量,所有的原样都使用手工编织,这样可以更容易地实现多彩的效果。然而,把她的设计转换成数码化的过程是相当困难的,我们先对她的作品进行扫描而后使用设计程序转化为一个有效的图案,然后我们还要对这个图案作颜色重组,之后根据她的设计,一针一针编绘出来。由于她的设计色彩非常密集,所以我们之间需要大量的沟通,Jenny先对每一个颜色进行确认,我们才可以去实施。在生产方面,最大的挑战来自于机械针织,你可以输入的颜色数量是有限的,最多可输入8种颜色,所以我们处理的方式就变为将几种颜色融合为一种。由于我们双方不断的沟通,成品最终达到了我们和Jenny预期的效果。

吴秉坚:早在70年代,你就可以看到她的设计是非常丰富多彩的,并且大胆又不失细节。关键的一点是,在那段时间里,她创造的作品都是全手织的。你也许知道,手工编织和机器编织有很大的不同,手工编织的针圈比机器编织的要大。所以最初,根据她的图形和图案设计,我们的机器并不相称,先前她并不需要很多针数来实现她想要的效果,但是机器的针步较为细密,需要的针数会较多。

所以我们不得不将她的作品转变为数码化的图案,然后调整针数密度,计算针织的比例和比率,从而实现Jenny的针织设计。我们必须让Jenny知道哪些颜色是我们先前没有的,以及我们正在采取怎样的措施来解决问题,我们可以通过改变每一列的颜色布局,使我们最终仍然可以实现相同的颜色效果。我们必须要让她知道我们所获得的成果正是她在寻求的,并且也要让她了解生产过程背后的技术精度和复杂工艺。另一个好处是,使用机器进行编织,我们可以实现手织服装难以实现的质量精准性与一致性,我相信这是Jenny非常高兴看到的结果。

确保最终的产品和品牌能够有销路是必要的,生产成本和销售价格是不是合理?此外,关于产品的交付,我们是否能确保所有的生产、交付和分销是及时的?涉及的工艺,最终的结果以及质量,这一切都必须符合品牌的风格。同样需要注意的是,往往一个系列的服装只限于小批量生产,这就是我们与较大规模的工厂的不同之处,他们不会接受小批量的订单。但我们终究是一家企业,当然我们在创造令人兴奋的创新服装以及帮助设计师们把他们的概念变成现实的同时,我们也需要做到盈利和信念并存。对设计师而言,要找到一家既能帮助开发他们的设计又能兼顾批量生产的有素质供应商并不容易。

将高品质的面料制成成品,这对于你的工作有多重要?

吴秉坚:我们的产品涵盖了中高档次价位,我们的业务是为高端客户提供世界一流的高科技设计和数碼化针织制作。我们在大中华区市场并没有大量的行业竞争对手,原因是大多数公司在争取订单的时候都会通过两种方式:一个是通过买卖经营角度,你需要计算现金流、脱销和利润,或者也可以通过产品的市场营销,藉此种方式你需要明确是如何在市场上定位你的产品,如何让消费者觉得你的产品是有独特性的,从而吸引购买。在高端商品的层面实施小批量生产的同时需要达到以上目标,需要大量的专业性以及精湛的工艺。作为一家工厂,我们最佳的生存方式以及维持业务的途径就是附加的增值服务,这意味需要利用科技和美学资源来帮客户完成设计。ODM的定位赋予了我们在市场上的稳定和价值,我们必须为了满足细分市场的需求,必须追求高品质的原料。

使用超细澳大利亚美丽诺羊毛对你而言有何益处?

吴秉坚:作为一家主要面向高端商品行业的服务性企业,澳大利亚美丽诺羊毛至关重要的是能够回应客户以质量为主导的需求。作为一种天然纤维,羊毛具有其他织物纤维难以比拟的优势,从舒适、温暖再到环保以及具有贵气的外观、温度调控等等。超细澳大利亚美丽诺羊毛会使衣物具有更加柔软的手感,非常适合贴身穿着。我们许多的双面编织产品只会使用超细美丽诺羊毛,尽管不如14微米那么细,但基本都在19和21微米之间。目前市场上对超细羊毛服装的需求量日益增加,尤其是在中国,市场需求正处在从粗羊毛到细羊毛稳定而缓慢的过渡中。越细的羊毛就越舒服也越美,如今你不会看到那些膨松的、厚实的羊毛服装。

一件精美的针织服装需要满足哪些重要条件?

吴秉坚:有两个条件必须满足——美学和质量。美学指的是创造一种美丽的颜色或色调,以及如何将这种颜色的服装上的实现。拿Jenny Kee的作品来说,她就很好的利用颜色来做为标志,包括了如何对颜色进行混合和配搭以及补充。美学还包括了一件服装的针织方式还有它穿着上身后的效果是怎样的。意大利的工厂在这方面非常擅长,深谙流行和经典之间怎样的服装会给人以视觉吸引力。而质量和好的原料息息相关,客户倾向于使用高端原材,包括羊毛、羊绒等,当然还需要顶尖的工艺来将其转变为奢华面料。耐用性是除质量和美观外的另一个重要因素;它并不一定是单指一件衣服的寿命,而是在服装进行洗涤后是否仍然能保持原本的造型,在穿着几次之后不会出现起毛头的现象,也不会有钮扣、拉链、珠片或饰扣脱落的状况。

猜你喜欢

Natalia Fashion Limited

Hong Kong-based knitwear manufacturer Natalia Fashion Limited is at the forefront of the industry’s technology, creating innovative designer garments

Meet the Maker

- Share -

Designing fashion is one thing, but having the expertise and equipment to create is something else entirely, and with technology evolving at such a rapid pace, it can be a great challenge for fashion labels to keep up in the global market. Natalia Fashion Limited is an original design manufacturing company located in Hong Kong which specialises in innovative knitwear, crafting pieces for some of the world’s most-loved brands. We took time to speak with Natalia Fashion Limited’s chief executive Arkin Ng and designer Cat Lam about the intricacies of knitwear production.

Can you tell us about what Natalia Fashion Limited does?

Arkin Ng [AN]: We are primarily an ODM [Original Design Manufacturing] company. However, I also have my own definition of what we do – we are not just an Original Design Manufacturing company, we are an Original Design and Development company. The difference is that because we serve numerous brands, many of which have their own designs already, what we can offer in addition to that is in terms of craftsmanship and innovative techniques, such as how they can realise their designs. I would say most of the time we do more development and manufacturing than design; this is our core expertise as many designers are not sure how to interpret their designs into a reality. An example is one designer came to us asking if they could create a “woven look” with a knitted garment, and so that’s what we did – we helped them to create that look with our software and machinery.

What is techno design? And how does digital knitting work?

AN: Techno design means we will take the steps to innovate a common technique or design further through our technology. For example the popular check pattern, which is common and easy to produce, we decided to bring a value-added layer to it by making changes and developments on the stitches, creating a reversible tartan fabric that has a different coloured tartan on both sides. Not only that, but even with the seams, you cannot tell that the other side is a completely different coloured tartan. Not many mills or factories can afford the resources or know how to do so. Another example is creating a 3D knitted garment; we are able to create a fully-fashioned garment with a single seam that drapes and moulds to the body beautifully, which matches on all “sides”.

Digital knitting is using computer software to create a complex pattern that can be programmed into a computerised knitting machine, that won’t require anything to be made by hand. We have a system called “Smart Knitter” that will produce the knitting statement which calculates when and where there needs to be widening or narrowing of the garment; all our apparel are knit-to-shape. We also have a “Smart Designer” system, which we used extensively for Jenny Kee’s designs to create knitting patterns digitally out of the artwork she shared with us. She would give us an artwork, or an image, and we would scan it into the system to process into a graphic pattern, which would then be digitalised into a stitch pattern. We then have to work how to program all the different colours into the machine, so that it can knit the garments according to the design we input.

What other benefits can digital knitting offer?

AN: Digital knitting can also allow us to scale up or down much more efficiently and accurately with its system. With a computer system you can easily identify the right file, quickly make edits to produce the different range of sizes for one type of garment and know that the proportions will remain the same. Digital knitting is highly commendable.

How do you like to work with fashion designers?

Cat Lam [CL]: Back in the days of university, we would start designing by thinking of a theme, something we like, and the whole collection would basically revolve around it. Now, of course, with quite a few years of professional experience, I know that something you create must also be marketable, that’s what makes your collection meaningful; it is a business after all. You have to consider your clients, your customers, and your target market. This is key - it’s not about simply doing something you like and not being interested in what others think. Natalia Fashion is a part of that learning process for many designers. It’s very fulfilling for me, particularly since I also manage the merchandising here; I have an opportunity to also apply what I learned in a business context.

AN: It’s also important for us to fully understand a client, its brand framework and market before we proceed. Some clients may come to us wanting to follow a certain trend or colour palette, which completely doesn’t make sense for their brand or target market, and we have to guide them in the right direction so that we create and develop designs that work within their identity and brand signature. In the end, items have to be saleable. Sometimes we even go so far as to approach our long-term clients with new ideas, show them samples of what we can do, of what we have thought up for them, and when it makes them go “wow,” we take it from there to develop something further.

You recently collaborated with Jenny Kee on her collection ‘A New Beginning’. How did you go about translating her original designs?

CL: The whole process from beginning to end took almost a year from the moment Jenny Kee approached us. When we first received her artwork, we were gobsmacked! The reason was because she used an incredible amount of colour in her archive pieces; they were all knitted by hand so a multi-coloured effect could be easily achieved. However, the process of converting her designs into digital was quite arduous – we scanned her artwork using our design program to transform it into a working pattern, and we then had to “colour in” this pattern according to her design, stitch by stitch. Because her designs are so colour intensive, it required a lot of communication between us – Jenny had to approve of each colour first before we could go ahead. In terms of production, the greatest challenge came in the fact that with machine knitting, you are limited by the number of colours you can input – a maximum of 8 - so the way we handled this was programming several colours into one. Again, this relied heavily on constant communication between us to be able to achieve the effect that Jenny Kee desired.

AN: Back in the ’70s, her designs as you can see were very colourful, bold and full of detail. The key point is that back in those days she created each piece by hand. Hand knitting and machine knitting are vastly different, as you may know; hand-knitted stitches are coarser than machine knitted ones. So from the outset, according to her graphics and patterns, our machines are not really catered to her designs – she didn’t need many stitches to achieve her looks before but machines, with its fine-knit stitches, would require a lot more.

So we had to digitalise her artwork to create a pattern, and then play with the stitch density, calculate the proportions and ratios, to achieve the same scale of Jenny’s hand-knit designs. We had to let Jenny know the colour constraints we had as well, and the steps we had to take to solve it, which was by altering the colour layout of each row of stitching, so that in the end we could still achieve the same multi-coloured effect. It was about letting her know that we will get the result she was looking for, but also to understand the technical precision and craftsmanship-intensive techniques behind production. Another bonus was that with machine knitting we could achieve accuracy and consistency in quality that hand-knitted garments could never achieve – I believe Jenny was very happy with the final result.

It’s also essential to make sure the final products and brand are marketable – the production cost and the retail price, are these reasonable? In addition, delivery – can we make sure the items are produced, delivered and distributed in time? The workmanship involved, the final result, the quality, it all must speak to the signature of the brand. It’s also important to note that the collection is only a small batch production – what sets us apart is that larger mills will not accept this kind of order. We are still a business at the end of the day so of course we need to return a profit while staying true to our belief that we are creating exciting and innovative garments that helps designers turn their concept into a reality. It’s not easy for designers to source a quality supplier that can help them develop their design and moreover, consider batch production.

How important is it to your business to work with high quality ingredients to the finished product?

AN: Our products are from the middle-to-high price range; our operations are about serving top clients with world-class techno design and digital knitting. What we do does not involve lots of industry competition right now in the Greater China market, the reason being most companies have two ways of approaching a business: through a merchandising angle, where you calculate the cash flow in, stock out and the profit earned, or through product marketing, whereby you try to figure out how you place and position a product on the market that is unique, that interests consumers. In order to achieve this at the luxury level in small batches, it requires a lot of professionalism and craftsmanship excellence, and as a mill/factory, our best way to survive and maintain the business is to have value-added services, which means having the technological and aesthetical resources to complement the design of our clients. Our ODM positioning gives us stability and a value in the market, and all this is to say, we must have high quality ingredients in order to satisfy this demand in the market segment.

What are the benefits of working with superfine Australian Merino wool?

AN: As a business that mostly services the luxury industry, Australian Merino wool is crucial, to answer to the quality-driven demands of our clients. And as a natural fibre, not many other fabrics can come close to the many different benefits of wool, from comfort and warmth, to environmental care, luxurious outlook, temperature control, and others. With superfine Australian Merino wool, it results in even more exquisite products with an extra soft handle that feels very supple on the skin. For many of our double knits, we use superfine Merino wool only, not as fine as 14 micron, but something close – between 19 and 21. There is an increasing demand in the market now for superfine wool garments, particularly in China, we are witnessing the slow but steady transition from coarse to superfine fibre demand. The finer we go, the more comfortable and beautiful it gets – you don’t see many bulky, “solid” wool garments nowadays.

What are the key quality signifiers of a beautifully knitted garment?

AN: There are two key signifiers – aesthetics and quality. Aesthetics refers to being able to create a beautiful colour or shades of it, and how you bring that colour to life on the garment. Jenny Kee’s collection is a great example of how appealing it is when a designer uses colour and tone well – how it is mixed, matched, complemented. It also includes the way a garment is stitched and how it fits on the body. Italian mills are very good at that – understanding what is a beautiful fit, to give a visual appeal that is current and classic at once. Quality is related to good materials; clients prefer to use premium materials and of course that includes wool, cashmere, and on top of that the craftsmanship that goes into working with luxury fabrics. Durability is also another signifier of quality and beauty; it isn’t necessarily about the longevity of the garment, but also about the garment retaining its shape after washing, no pilling effect and no buttons, zips, beads or studs falling off after a few wears.

You may also like