毛毡织品为屋子增添质感

借助自然的产物手工制成,唯有亲身触碰,才能尽情享受

 

室内纺织品

- 分享到 -

农场长大的纺织品艺术家Grace Wood深谙大自然的魅力。她对地球母亲的由衷敬意体现于她生活的方方面面。正因如此,美丽诺羊毛成为她毛毡设计的天然选择。

Wood的天堂

“5岁之前,我一直生活在果园,” Grace Wood边说边回味着新鲜采摘水果的甜美滋味。“刚从树上摘下来的水果味道是不一样的。我的父母将农场转型为有机果园,我渐渐意识到这其实是一项繁重的工作。”

无化学成分、可持续的环保产品已经在Wood生活中的占据了主要地位。那些热爱地球的艺术家和设计师对Wood的工作方式产生了深远影响,他们致力于降低或限制其生活和行为对环境的影响。作为毛毡艺术家,Wood擅于利用澳大利亚羊毛创造出触感极佳的室内针织产品。不仅如此,她还在自己的工作中践行着父母的有机理念,使用天然植物提取物亲手为毡化羊毛染色。胭脂虫、黄木犀草、茜草、大丽花、洋葱、黄姜和靛蓝造就了她作品中鲜活亮丽的颜色。

也许,正是跟随荷兰毛毡艺术家 Claudy Jongstra 实习的时光,点燃了Wood对天然植物染料的热情。

“Claudy的花园拥有100多种具有天然染色属性的植物。通过她,我深入了解了这一领域。如果摒弃了所有化学流程,每一项工序都需要依靠大量的人力劳动。关于这件事我思考了很多,但我意识到我的整体理念就是做对环境无害的事,所以在我的作品中使用天然植物染料实属顺理成章。”


Grace Wood. 照片来源: Chris Warnes

目前,Wood的父母还拥有另一处地产——“清溪”(Clear Creek),混合饲养着澳大利亚美丽诺绵羊和杂交绵羊。Wood是澳大利亚羊毛产业的忠实拥护者,其设计所需的羊毛大部分都来自她父母的农场,这也使得她完全参与整个供应链,从农场到毡化再到成品,她希望鼓励新一代培养可持续的创意理念。她常常亲手对羊毛进行清洗和毡化,在制作精美产品的过程中采用艺术化的呈现方式 。

尽管Wood并没有住在农场里,她的住处坐落于著名的蓝山,为茂密的丛林所环抱。蓝山位于悉尼以西,以壮丽的风光、陡峭的悬崖和雄伟的全景著称。

“我最喜欢蓝山的几处地方:温特沃斯瀑布的护林小屋、在卡通巴的卡林顿酒店壁炉边小酌、可以眺望群山美景的海尔山(Mount Hay),还有‘天堂’。我不能告诉你它在哪儿,但如果你找到这个地方,你就会明白那里为什么叫‘天堂’。”


温馨杯(Cosy Cup)——底部深色,与George Fattal共同设计:Grace Wood作品的触感是其独到之处。

Grace Wood对自然万物的情节通过Grace Wood设计工作室的作品大放异彩。

“我总是被广袤而空旷、崎岖而荒凉的地方吸引;无需复杂的事物,仅仅是天空和云彩就能赋予我灵感,”她笑道,“这片土地上天然形成的形状和轮廓都总是不经意地出现在我的作品中。”

她作品的名字深得大自然的启发:名为“蓝色的波浪”或“烧焦的灌木丛”的床罩;“满月”、“狼皮灰”和“黑鸟”等靠枕套既为室内带来一抹野外风情,又具有温暖闲适的外形和质感。


羊毛毡为您的家增添色彩和质感。照片来源:Lauren McIvor

“我使用羊毛,因为它们温暖舒适,触感柔软,对于很多人来说这就是魅力所在。人们亲眼见到这件产品,触摸它、感受它,这和在屏幕或照片上看到它是截然不同的。当你告诉人们它是用什么制作的、制作方法是怎样的,你会看到他们惊讶的表情,那感觉真的很棒。即使是那些壁挂,我也希望人们能够触摸它们,切身感受那种质感。”

猜你喜欢

Felted textiles to add texture to your home

Hand-crafted from the fruits of nature, you’ll have to feel it to believe it

Interiors

- Share -

Growing up on the land, textile artist Grace Wood is truly at one with nature. Her deeply rooted respect for Mother Earth is evident in all facets of her life and is why Merino wool is the natural choice for her felt designs.

Wood’s Paradise

“I lived on a fruit orchard until I was five years old,” says Grace Wood, remembering the sweet taste of freshly picked fruit. “It tastes different when it’s straight off the tree. My parents transitioned the farm to an organic orchard, which I have come to realise is a lot work.”

Environmentally sustainable and chemical-free production has become a major part of Wood’s life. Artists and designers who touch the earth lightly and reduce or limit the impact their lives and practices have on the environment has had a powerful influence on how Wood works. As a felt artist, Wood creates stunningly tactile interior textile products from Australian wool. If that doesn’t sound hard enough, she has implemented her parents’ organic approach to her work, personally dyeing the felted wool with natural plant extracts. Cochineal, weld, madder, Dahlia, onion, turmeric and indigo are some of the sources of the rich and vibrant colours seen in her work.

Perhaps it was her time spent interning with Dutch felt artist Claudy Jongstra which ignited Wood’s passion for natural plant dyes.

“Claudy had a garden with over 100 different species of plants with natural dye properties, so I was exposed to that in a big way through her. If you remove all the chemical processes everything becomes much more labour intensive. It was something that I thought about a lot but I just realised that my whole philosophy is about doing something that is not harmful to the environment, so using natural plant dyes in my work was just a logical progression.”


Grace Wood. Photo: Chris Warnes

These days, Wood’s parents own another property, ‘Clear Creek’, which runs a mix of Australian Merinos and crossbred sheep. A big supporter of the Australian wool industry, Wood sources most of the wool for her designs from her parents’ farm, allowing her to be fully involved throughout her entire supply chain, from farm, to felt to finished product, hoping to encourage a generation of sustainable creativity. She cleans and felts all of her wool by hand, bringing back the artisanal approach to crafting beautiful products.

Despite not living on the farm, Wood lives surrounded by dense bushland in the iconic Blue Mountains - a rugged region west of Sydney known for its dramatic scenery, steep cliffs and panoramic views.

“I have a few personal favourite places in the Blue Mountains: The Conservation Hut in Wentworth Falls, drink by the fireplace at Katoomba’s Carrington hotel, Mount Hay for the most amazing lookout over the mountains and last but not least, Paradise. I can’t tell you where it is, but if you find it, you’ll know why it’s called Paradise.”


Cosy Cup - Dark base, co-designed with George Fattal: The tactility of a Grace Wood product is what makes it so unique.

It’s this day-to-day connection with all things natural that shine through in the end products of Grace Wood Design Studio.

“I’m always drawn to the places where the landscapes are wide and open, rugged and wild; although, it doesn’t take much really, even the sky and clouds are also really inspiring to me,” she laughs. “The shapes and forms that occur naturally within the landscape are always showing themselves in my work.”

Even the names of her products are inspired by nature: Bedcovers called Blue Waves or Burnt Bush; Full Moon, Wolf Grey and Black Birds cushion covers all bring a touch of the outdoors inside whilst maintaining a warm and cosy look and feel.


Wool felt adds colour and texture to your home. Photo: Lauren McIvor

“They’re wool. They’re warm and they’re tactile and soft and that’s part of the appeal for a lot of people. When people actually see the product in real life and they get to touch and feel it, it’s so different to just seeing it on a screen or in a picture. It’s really great when you see people surprised when you tell them what it’s made of and how it’s made. Even the wall hangings, I love the idea that people would touch them and feel what the texture is like.”

You may also like