专家教您选购定制西装

萨维尔街的定制师们揭秘如何挑选定制西装

 

趋势

- 分享到 -

这是一种对任何年龄的男人而言都万无一失的装束。每个人都需要一套优质的西装,我们特此邀请萨维尔街的三位定制师,就如何选购这件衣柜必需品与读者们分享他们的专业建议。来自Gieves and Hawkes的Davide Taub、来自Chittleborough and Morgan的Joe Morgan、来自Maurice Sedwell的Andrew Ramroop以及Anderson and Sheppard的掌门人Anda Rowland齐聚一堂,教您如何迈着优雅自信的步伐,玩转这条大名鼎鼎的定制街。

不只是一件西装

男士必备的西装应该是什么样的?

Taub:一件采用中等重量面料制作的深色西装,无任何图案,不过度设计,剪裁修身。一件萨维尔街1号出品的手工西装可以穿着多年,适合不同类型的场合,不失为一项聪明的投资。

Morgan:约300克重的纯羊毛深蓝夹克、背心和西裤。可成套穿着,出席正式场合,亦可用夹克搭配白衬衫和灰色轻质羊毛西裤,展现出轻松、随和的风范。

Ramroop:每个男人的衣柜里都必须拥有一件蓝色运动休闲西服或运动夹克。面料设计应当精细入微,既可作为运动外套、也可作为休闲西装穿着。它应当带有白兰地色的天然牛角纽扣,与白兰地色的长裤搭配穿着。

Rowland:我们推荐灰色法兰绒西装,谁穿上它都很好看。它既适合商务场合,也适合休闲场合。


Maurice Sedwell

如何选购定制西装?

Ramroop: 首先,顾客应该与有经验的裁缝面谈,而非销售人员。经验丰富的裁缝会询问正确的问题,确定西装的用途,并为顾客指引正确的方向。


Chittleborough and Morgan

面料的重要性:

Morgan:我们需要伸缩自如、贴合身形的面料。各种重量、花型的优质羊毛面料都很适宜我们剪裁。


Anderson and Sheppard

三件式西装的制作流程

Rowland:客人将由一名顾问接待,浏览我们精心挑选的4000多种面料,并讨论款式选择。每位客人将与一位资深大衣(夹克)裁剪师(Cutter)和一位资深长裤裁剪师(Cutter)会面。我们的修边师(Trimmer)将负责挑选里料、帆布、毛毡、粗布、线、肩垫等材料并负责面料的搭配,以便开始西装的制作。这些材料将被送交给专业裁缝,他们一位负责外套,一位负责长裤,还有一位负责背心。顾客还要再进行两次试衣,并准许将衣服送交精修工(Finisher),完成内衬、扣眼、边缘等细节工作。一套三件式西装的制作过程将涉及8位训练有素的员工。其中大部分工作在伦敦市中心完成,不过我们一些年长的裁缝可能在英格兰的家中工作。


Gieves and Hawkes

如何保养定制西装: 

Taub:一套手工制作的定制西装是用来穿的,而不只是为了放在衣柜里欣赏。如果保养方法得当,尊重了西装制作的方式,那么它将比成衣耐穿几十年,是一笔划得来的投资。大部分接缝处都会预留额外的面料,以便身形改变时对西装进行调整,或者面料破损时进行修缮。在了解这些特点的基础上,请将西装挂于优质的衣架,不要连续许多天穿同一套西装,给它呼吸和休息的时间!如果弄上污点,请不要干洗,应该用清水和软皂单独清洗污点。

当然,您可随时向定制师寻求建议。

猜你喜欢

Expert advice on buying a bespoke suit

Savile Row tailors reveal how to buy made-to-measure

Trend

- Share -

It’s a fool-proof outfit which does justice to any man, young or old. Every one needs a good suit, so we have asked three Savile Row tailors to reveal their expert advice on buying this wardrobe staple. Davide Taub from Gieves and Hawkes, Joe Morgan from Chittleborough and Morgan, Andrew Ramroop from Maurice Sedwell and Anderson and Sheppard owner Anda Rowland reveal how to step out in confidence as you stride down the iconic sartorial strip.

More than just a suit

What is the one must-have suit every man should own?

Taub: A dark suit with no pattern in a mid-weight cloth, not overly designed but cut in total harmony with the body. It is a great investment if crafted by hand in the workshop at No. 1 Savile Row and can be worn for many different types of occasions for many years to come.

Morgan: An eleven ounce pure wool dark blue jacket, waistcoat and trousers. Worn as a suit for formal or the jacket with a white shirt and a pair of light wool grey trousers makes it very easy to wear.

Ramroop: Every man must have a blue blazer/sport jacket in his wardrobe. The cloth design should be very subtle enabling doubling up as a sport coat or blazer. It should be fastened with cognac coloured natural horn buttons and worn with co-ordinating cognac coloured trousers.

Rowland: We recommend a grey flannel suit, which looks good on everyone.  It can be worn for business or for casual occasions.


Maurice Sedwell

How to buy a bespoke suit?

Ramroop: Firstly, the customer should speak with an experienced tailor not a salesman. The tailor’s vast experience would ask the right questions, determine the purpose the suit is required for and guide him in the right direction.


Chittleborough and Morgan

Importance of fabric:

Morgan: We need cloth to stretch, shrink, and to be moulded around body shapes. Wool cloth in all weights, designs and best quality is created for us to tailor.


Anderson and Sheppard

Process for a 3-piece suit:

Rowland: Clients are welcomed by a consultant to go through our selection of over 4000 cloths and to discuss the style choices. Each client will then see a Senior Coat (Jacket) Cutter and a Senior Trouser Cutter. Our Trimmer will then select the linings, canvas, felt, buckram, thread, shoulder wadding and other elements to match the cloth and to go in to the construction of the suit. These elements go to a specialist tailor - one for the coat, one for the trousers and one for the waistcoat. The client has two further fittings and approves the garment which then goes to a finisher who works on the lining, button holes, edges and there details. In total, 8 highly trained people will have worked on the 3-piece suit throughout the process. This mostly takes place in Central London although some of our older tailors may work from home in England.


Gieves and Hawkes

How to care for your bespoke suit:

Taub: A handcrafted bespoke suit is made to be worn, not just admired in the wardrobe. If looked after in a way that acknowledges the manner it was tailored, it will outlive any ready-to-wear suit by decades, justifying the investment made. Extra cloth is left on most of the seams to allow the suit to be adjusted as the body changes shape and the cloth can be mended if damaged too. So with this in mind, hang the suit on a good hanger, try not to wear the suit too many days in a row, allow the suit to breath and rest! If any stains appear, avoid dry cleaning, but treat the spots individually with water and a soft soap. Always ask your tailor for advice.

You may also like