王在实:中国时尚之星

王在实毕业于伦敦时装学院和中央圣马丁艺术与设计学院,是中国新一代的时尚设计新星。她的英文名Vega源于从地球上所能看到最耀眼的星球——织女星,这正与她设计师的身份相得益彰。

设计师简介

- 分享到 -

中国高端时尚圈对王在实并不陌生,名流巨星经常身着她精心设计、剪裁得体的服装,热门时尚杂志也不乏她的作品身影。

在她2009年推出第一个个人系列时,一个偶然的机遇令王在实成功打造了一个在之后七年中持续发展的品牌,并始终与中国的名流保持亲密合作。她表示:“2009年我去北京为我的第一个服装系列拍片,当时一位明星把我整个系列都买了下来,于是我当即就决定搬到北京。”此后,品牌的主线,以及最近首次亮相的平价附线,在国内时尚圈中渐渐打响了知名度。虽然国际奢侈品牌依然是中国时尚达人的风向标,但出于对新鲜事物和个人风格的好奇,越来越多的本土设计师们开始走入中国前沿时尚消费者的视野。

王在实的个人品牌目前已入驻3间独立精品店,以及遍布全国各地的28间精品集合店。国际品牌集合店Opening Ceremony也将其收录进“中国年”活动。 王在实认为:“虽然自主品牌开始走入了大众视野,但与中国庞大的人口基数以及传统品牌相比,数量仍然有限。不过自主品牌近年来一直呈现上升势头。我的品牌已经走过了七年,虽然现在中国经济放缓,但并没有影响到我们的业务。我们的销售还在不断增长。”

王在实表示,品牌成功的秘诀其实并不神秘,无非在于专注于服装基础,即考究的面料、优秀的设计、精细的制作。她认为:“客户看中的是我们对品质、面料和剪裁的追求。我们主要选用羊毛和丝绸之类的天然面料。刚刚完成的2016年秋冬系列就使用了大量的羊毛。这一季品牌的主打是外套,最新系列中就有很多不同款式的外套。 ”

其最新系列的灵感来源于被遗忘的领域。这组名为“The Visible Faith”的作品,灵感来自于刚果知名社交与服装方面的行为运动。在刚果共和国布拉柴维尔街头,有一群被称作“sapeurs”的非洲绅士,他们头顶软呢帽,身穿三件套西装,持着手杖,脚踏丝袜,着装考究,将街景变为风流绅士的服装博览会。他们给了王在实许多启发:“我看了纪录片后非常感动。因为贫穷,他们经常要借钱买衣服。对于sapeur们来说,服装不仅是保暖装扮的工具,更是他们的生活,是他们相互之间的连接。”

今年9月,王在实的设计工作室及制作业务将从首都北京迁往南方悠闲的临海城市——福建厦门。这座城市同时也是其他自主品牌设计师,如上官喆和马可的大本营。从时装学校毕业后的王在实一直戴着年轻设计师的光环,她决定暂时远离镁光灯,离开名流聚集的北京。

王在实的下个目标十分简单:走向世界。她表示:“我希望将目光投向海外市场,之前无论是产品质量、还是推广时机等方面我都没有做好充分准备,所以没有进军海外市场。现在我不仅有成熟的团队、还有优质的供应商,我对产品的前景充满信心。”

猜你喜欢

Vega Wang: Star of China’s Fashion Universe

Vega Zaishi Wang, is one of a new generation of Chinese fashion stars

Designer Profile

- Share -

Vega Zaishi Wang is no stranger to China’s high fashion scene; her well-tailored designs are often spotted on the pages of the country’s high-profile fashion magazines, or on the backs of China’s well-heeled celebrity set.

From her very first collection, launched back in 2009, Wang has enjoyed something of a love affair with Chinese celebs, a fortuitous partnership that has led the designer to be able to build a sustainable brand in just seven years. “In 2009 I went to Beijing to do some photo shooting for my first collection and when I was there, a big celebrity came and bought my entire collection, so that’s why I decided to move to Beijing at that time,” Wang said. Since then, Wang’s flagship brand, as well as a lower-priced sister line that has made its debut recently, has found an increasingly wide audience among local fashion fans. Whereas once big name international luxury labels were the go-to for Chinese fashionistas, a desire for newness and individual style has led to an increase in interest in local independent designers among the country’s most fashion forward shoppers.

Wang’s main label is currently stocked in three standalone boutiques, as well as 28 multi-brand boutiques around the country, with international multi-brand store Opening Ceremony also picking up the label as part of its “Year of China” event. “People are getting to know independent brands, but compared with China’s population, which is huge, and compared with the traditional brands, our numbers are still small, but it’s getting bigger every year. For me, I’ve had my brand for seven years and from our sales, even now that the economy in China is not very good, we are still growing, it’s not affecting our business actually,” Wang said.

According to the designer, the not-so-secret ingredient to success for her brand has been a focus on getting the basics right from the beginning. It basically boils down to good designs, made well, from quality fabrics. “I think customers like our brand because we focus on good quality and beautiful fabrics and tailoring. Mostly we use wool and silk – natural fabrics,” she said. “The current collection we just finished is 2016 fall-winter and we’ve used a lot of wool. Our brand is quite focused on coats and we have a few different coat designs in the latest collection.”

The inspiration for the latest collection may seem to come from left field. Called “The Visible Faith”, its inspiration is the Congolese social and sartorial movement of “sapeurs”, who are known for turning the streets of Brazzaville, in the Republic of Congo, into an exhibition of suave with their three-piece suits, silk socks, fedoras and canes. “They often have to borrow money for their clothes, because they are poor. I was very touched by a documentary I saw,” Wang explained. “This is another meaning for clothing, because for them there is a real relationship with their clothing, it shows how clothing can be more than functional, more than beautiful, it can mean more. For the sapeur, it means their life and their relationships. I was very inspired by this.”

Looking ahead, this September will see Wang move the base of her design and manufacturing operation from the nation’s capital to the laid-back southern Chinese island town of Xiamen, in Fujian Province. A year in the city – which is also home to other Chinese independent fashion luminaries, such as Sankuanz and Ma Ke – following her graduation from fashion school has stuck with the young designer, who is comfortable enough with her profile to move a little away from the media and celebrity limelight of Beijing.

The next goal for Wang is simple: world domination. “I would like to focus more on the overseas market. Before, I didn’t have that much confidence to broaden our brand to abroad because we weren’t 100 percent prepared. In terms of production quality, timing and everything. I think now is the time because we have a sustainable team, more confidence in our suppliers and production,” she said.

You may also like