印度赛区冠军

Rahul Mishra 赢得 2013/14 年度印度和中东地区决赛

设计师简介

- 分享到 -

用古老工艺缔造未来服装

 

故事和纺织品 

观察到世界在过去 100 年里的变化后,Rahul Mishra 力求在 2013/14 年度国际羊毛大奖(IWP)印度和中东区大赛中描绘出人类的发展历程。

“我喜欢讲故事。”Mishra 解释道,“对我来说,讲故事最为重要,故事是所有设计和概念的灵魂。”

“所有都是关于设计师的表达,衣服像是一个衍生品。你想要表达的是你自己。”Rahul Mishra

Mishra 的故事深深吸引了评委:他设计的美丽诺羊毛夹克上,前卫的手工针织图案呈现出精湛的工艺。灵感来自八瓣莲花的针织细节营造出一种更为多元的结构。

这个概念让 Mishra 从来自印度、阿联酋、巴基斯坦和黎巴嫩的十组选手中脱颖而出,在印度新德里美丽的里拉皇宫举行的庆典上获颁印度赛区冠军头衔。除了获得 5 万澳元的奖金之外,这位孟买设计师还将在来年前往米兰时装周,角逐 2013/14 决赛的桂冠。

为了 2014 年 2 月的决赛,Mishra 必须创作出一个美丽诺羊毛精品系列,以迎战来自亚洲、澳大利亚、欧洲和美国的其他决赛选手,这是一个挑战,但这位年轻的设计师表示,他已经准备就绪。 

 
 

千载难逢的机会

“我必须感谢所有为之努力的人,”他说。“这段旅程才刚刚开始,我们将在新的起跑线上出发。比赛让我愈加自信,这是对我的作品的一个很好的检验。不管结果如何,这都会是一个全新的开始。”

众多当地和国际行业名流担当了此次区域决赛的评委,其中包括权威时尚新闻网站 The Business of Fashion的创始人兼时尚评论家 Imran Amed、设计师 Manish Arora、国际毛纺织组织总裁 Peter Ackroyd、Lock 集团首席执行官 Simon Lock,以及印度时装设计委员会主席 Sunil Sethi。

“有时你的创作让你只想流泪,因为是太开心了。” ——Rahul Mishra

“我想让印度传统技艺变得摩登起来。”Mishra 说,“因为如果你不与时俱进,技艺只会陈列在博物馆内然后消失。你必须不断地自我进化。”

如果他的作品在 2013/14 年度国际羊毛标志大奖决赛中夺魁,Mishra 将另外获得 10 万澳元奖金,而且他的作品也会上架在包括伦敦 Harvey Nichols、纽约 Saks Fifth Avenue、米兰 10 Corso Como、中国 Joyce、澳大利亚 David Jones 和德国 My Theresa 在内的全球顶级时装零售商店铺及其网上商店。

虽然采用的是传统的印度工艺,但 Mishra 深知以全球视角进行设计的重要性。

“作品必须全球化,可以让全世界任何地方的人都能美美得穿上它。”他说,“世界已经变得越来越小,就像一个地球村。”

猜你喜欢

Rahul Mishra

Rahul Mishra wins 2013/14 India and Middle East regional event

Designer Profile

- Share -

Dressing for the future with the craftsmanship of the past.

 

TALES AND TEXTILES

Observing the metamorphosis the world has undergone in the past 100 years, Rahul Mishra sought to portray the journey of the human race through his entry in the 2013/14 International Woolmark Prize (IWP) for the India and the Middle East region.

“I love storytelling,” Mishra explains. “For me storytelling is the most important, stories are the soul of any kind of design, any kind of concept.”

“It’s all about a designer’s expression, clothes are like a by-product. You want to express yourself.” Rahul Mishra

Mishra’s story captivated the judges: his progressive, graphic hand-embroidered Merino wool jacket dress showed exquisite artistry. The woven detail, inspired by the shape of an eight-petal lotus flower, morphs into more complex structures.

The concept saw Mishra rise to the top of the ten finalists from India, the UAE, Pakistan and Lebanon to take out the regional IWP award at a ceremony held at the beautiful Leela Palace in New Delhi, India. Along with AUD$50,000 in prize money, the honour sees the Mumbai-based designer head to Milan Fashion Week next year in a bid to take out the 2013/14 award.

For the February 2014 final, Mishra must develop a Merino wool capsule collection to go up against finalists from Asia, Australia, Europe and the United States, but it’s a challenge the young designer says he is ready to accept.

 
 

THE CHANCE OF A LIFETIME

“I just can’t stop thanking all the people who worked towards it,” he says. “It’s a journey that’s just started, although started on a newer level altogether. The confidence is on a newer level. It’s a great validation of my work, but nevertheless it is just a start.”

Local and international industry figures judged the regional award, including fashion writer Imran Amed, founder of The Business of Fashion; designer Manish Arora; Peter Ackroyd, president of the International Wool Textile Organisation; Simon Lock, CEO of The Lock Group; and Sunil Sethi, president of the Fashion Design Council of India.

“Sometimes you create something and you just want to cry, you’re so happy with it.” Rahul Mishra

“My idea for Indian craft is to make it modern, to make it contemporary,” says Mishra. “Because craft gets lost in the museum if you don’t create it [for] the time. You have to constantly evolve yourself.”

Should his work deliver him the 2013/14 International Woolmark Prize, Mishra will add another AUD$100,000 to his prize kitty and see his collection appear on the shelves of the best known fashion retailers in the world, including London’s Harvey Nichols, New York’s Saks Fifth Avenue, Milan’s 10 Corso Como, China’s Joyce, Australia’s David Jones and My Theresa in Germany and online.

Although he embraces traditional Indian craftsmanship, Mishra understands the need to design with an international perspective.

“It has to be a very universal product which can be worn anywhere in the world,” he says. “The world has become smaller now, it has become like a global village.”

You may also like