亚洲赛区区域冠军

ffiXXed 赢得 2013/14 年度亚洲地区决赛

设计师简介

- 分享到 -


这个来自香港的设计二人组在亚洲赛区中表现堪称完美。现在,他们准备在世界的舞台上大展身手。

双头火车

ffiXXed 由Kain Picken 和 Fiona Lau 合作建立,他们身兼艺术家和设计师,现已拥有多个代表性创新作品。

“在我们一开始携手合作的时候,就觉得很有动力。”Picken 说,“在某个时刻,我们突然觉得,嗯,好吧,我们是时候创立一个自己的时装品牌了。”

就这样,这对澳大利亚搭档迁往香港,将他们的创意直觉转化为成衣。他们极具艺术性的、自由奔放的设计理念大获成功,其原创品牌在国际羊毛标志大奖(IWP)亚洲区比赛中脱颖而出。

“对我们来说最重要的是交流想法……通过服装或是有的时候通过展览,我们用不同的媒介。”
Fiona Lau说。

“国际羊毛标志大奖为亚洲和中国的设计师们提供了一个展示他们才华的国际性舞台。”IWP 评委之一,《VOGUE 服饰与美容》 主编 Angelica 张宇说。“ffiXXed 以其受地毯启发的羊毛连衣裙设计最终获胜。凭借着羊毛的柔软舒适性,地毯的外表和形状得以完美平衡。国际羊毛标志大奖鼓励在使用羊毛作为原材料时的创新,以及在设计和制作过程中的创新。”

另一位评委,中国时装零售商 Joyce 艺术及视觉总监 Bartley Ingram 说:“在来自中国大陆、中国香港、韩国及日本的十位地区性决赛选手中,ffiXXed 脱颖而出。”

“获胜团队在整个秀展中表现得最优秀。他们以浅显易懂的方式整合了他们的想法,”他说。“他们顾全到了比赛的方方面面,并以一种十分创新的方式加以处理。从草图到决赛作品,他们对每个细节和赛事宗旨都考虑得细致入微。”

下一站——米兰

评委 Cheung、Ingram、Lock 集团的 Simon,上年度国际 IWP 获胜者 Christian Wijnants 以及 Calvin Klein 和 Calvin Klein Jeans 的全球创意总监 Kevin Carrigan 在经过深思熟虑后,于香港 W 酒店举行的庆典中宣布 Picken 和 Lau 为亚洲赛区冠军。

“不仅仅是因为他们以一种极为现代的方式使用了羊毛,还因为他们创造了一个非常时尚前卫的精品系列,”Ingram 补充道。“另外,他们的商业意识和对其服装商业性的诠释,也令他们拔得头筹。”

除了 5 万澳元奖金,ffiXXed 还将在 2014 年 2 月代表亚洲出战于米兰时装周期间举行的 IWP 全球总决赛,和他们对决的,将是另外四组实力选手。所有选手将需要使用美丽诺羊毛创作出自己的巅峰之作。 

总决赛获胜者将另外获得 10 万澳元奖金,其作品也将进入包括 中国Joyce、伦敦 Harvey Nichols、纽约 Saks Fifth Avenue、米兰 10 Corso Como、澳大利亚 David Jones 和德国 My Theresa 在内的全球顶级时装百货进行销售。

“我们深知,我们想要创作一些具有 ffiXXed 特色同时又适合所有人穿着的产品。”Picken 说,“对我们而言,ffiXXed 一直都是一个超级个性化的挑战。 想想看,我们以前完全没有想过建立自己品牌,而谁会想到现在竟是这样。”


猜你喜欢

Ffixxed

ffiXXed wins 2013/14 Asia regional event

Designer Profile

- Share -


There's certainly nothing broken with this Hong Kong-based design duo. The pair is preparing to take on the world.

DOUBLE HEADER

ffiXXed began as collaboration between artists and designers Kain Picken and Fiona Lau, one that has evolved to encompass a variety of creative projects.

“We started working together and it got some momentum,” says Picken. “At some point we were like, okay, we should do this as a label, do a fashion line.”

So the Australian pair moved to Hong Kong and put their creative instincts to the test - their artistic, unstructured approach to the design process has paid off, with the label taking out the International Woolmark Prize (IWP) for the Asian region.

“What’s most important for us is to communicate our ideas … either though garments or sometimes we do exhibitions, we just use different mediums.”
Fiona Lau

“The International Woolmark Prize gives Asian and Chinese designers a global platform to showcase their talents,” says IWP judge Angelica Cheung, editor-in-chief of Vogue China. “ffiXXed were awarded for their stunning wool dress which was inspired by a rug. There was a balance between the surface and form of a rug with the softness of the wool. [The IWP] encourages innovation in the use of wool as a raw material, and also in terms of design and creativity.”

Fellow judge, Bartley Ingram, head of art and visual at Chinese fashion retailer Joyce says that ffiXXed stood out from the ten regional finalists from China, Hong Kong, Korea and Japan.

"The winning team did the best all round presentation. They really put together their ideas in a way that was clear to understand,” he said. “They took every aspect of the competition into consideration and did it in a very innovative way. From their mood boards to the final product they thought about every detail and the purpose of the competition.”

 

NEXT STOP MILAN

Picken and Lau were announced as the regional finalists during a ceremony at Hong Kong’s W Hotel following deliberation by the judging panel of Cheung, Ingram, Simon Lock of The Lock Group, last year’s International IWP winner Christian Wijnants and Kevin Carrigan, global creative director for Calvin Klein and Calvin Klein Jeans.

"Not only was their use of wool very modern, they created a very fashion forward capsule collection,” adds Ingram. “And their business sense and explanation of the commerciality of their garment really put them in the lead.”

On top of a AUD$50,000 prize, ffiXXed will head to Milan fashion week in February 2014 to represent Asia at the grand final of the IWP, against four regional finalists - for which they will need to develop a capsule collection made using Merino wool.

The ultimate winner will receive an additional AUD$100,000 and see their collection stocked in the biggest fashion retailers in the world, including Joyce, Harvey Nichols of London, New York’s Saks Fifth Avenue, 10 Corso Como in Milan, Australia’s David Jones and My Theresa in Germany.

“We were really conscious that we wanted to do something characteristic of ffiXXed but we wanted it to be something that can adapt to anyone’s lifestyle,” Picken says. “ffiXXed has always been a super personal project for us … we think about where we started from without any idea of having a label and where we’re at now and it sort of helps you put it in context.

“We’re in this overall trajectory that we want to be on.”

You may also like